Press Release

Emilio Lozoya of Pemex Chosen as 2014 “Petroleum Executive of the Year”

Copyright © 2022 Energy Intelligence Group All rights reserved. Unauthorized access or electronic forwarding, even for internal use, is prohibited.

Energy Intelligence announced today that Emilio Lozoya Austin, CEO of Petróleos Mexicanos (Pemex), has earned the distinction of his peers as “Petroleum Executive of the Year.” The 2014 award, as selected by top global industry executives, will be presented to Mr. Lozoya on October 29 at an honorary dinner during the 35th Annual Oil & Money Conference in London. Energy Intelligence jointly convenes Oil & Money with the International New York Times.

Emilio Lozoya was appointed CEO of Mexico’s state-owned petroleum company, Pemex, in December 2012, having previously served as the head of the International Affairs Office on the Transition Team of Mexican President Enrique Peña Nieto. He has also worked in international banking and was the cofounder of investment funds specializing in international private capital investments.

Lozoya played a key role working alongside Mexican President Peña Nieto to obtain passage of Mexico’s historic energy reform, which is poised to transform Mexico’s oil sector from being one of the world’s most closed energy markets to a new magnet for energy investment from around the globe. Under Lozoya’s leadership, Pemex is embarking upon its most significant corporate transformation in the past 75 years as it moves from being a state monopoly to a dynamic state enterprise that will compete for opportunities in the sector either on its own or in partnership with other oil companies. ,/p>

“Emilio Lozoya is Chief Executive at a crucial point in Mexico’s energy history,” said Thomas Wallin, editor-in-chief and executive vice president of Energy Intelligence. “It is fitting that in the year of the historic Mexican energy reform, the CEO of the Mexican national oil company has been chosen by his peers to receive the Petroleum Executive of the Year Award.”

The Petroleum Executive of the Year selection process begins with Energy Intelligence eliciting nominations from the heads of the 100 largest oil companies determined by the annual company rankings in Petroleum Intelligence Weekly, an Energy Intelligence publication. These nominations are then voted on by a committee of previous award winners and former senior oil executives.

Now in its 18th year, previous winners of the Petroleum Executive of the Year Award include Peter Voser of Royal Dutch Shell (2013), Fu Chengyu of Sinopec (2012), José Sergio Gabrielli de Azevedo of Petrobras (2011), Andrew Gould of Schlumberger (2010), Christophe de Margerie of Total (2009), Paolo Scaroni of Eni (2008) and H.E. Abdulla al-Attiyah of Qatar (2007).

The 35th Annual Oil & Money Conference, convened by the International New York Times and Energy Intelligence, will be held on October 29-30.

Press Release (Marketing)
Wanda Ad #2 (article footer)
The Norwegian major is poised to grab one of five leases offered in the US’ first commercial-scale floating wind lease sale.
Wed, Dec 7, 2022